Today I read the blog post below by A.J. Juliani which resonated. A colleague and I were having a conversation this week about teaching.

I said, “Sometimes we seem to make teaching too difficult. To which she replied, “What do you mean?”

I responded by sharing how someone could lecture every day and be a good teacher. If a teacher were able to lecture every day and do it effectively so that students were learning and engaged, then that is still good teaching. It isn’t about a specific strategy, it’s about knowing what is working and doing it well. It is as simple as that.

Be good at teaching students however you know is working and prove it. Be willing to improve every day and prove it. Teach kids first. That’s it.

I then read this post about Storytelling. So much of what we have to share that makes an impact is about a story. I think this article is spot on and worth the read. Storytelling is what effective teachers do-ministers, speakers, coaches, classroom teachers, administrators, leaders-teach through stories. If we look at the history of the human race, it was the first teaching tool.  Enjoy the read.

http://ajjuliani.com/stories-are-the-key-to-building-empathy/